2024-25 Transfer Information

Transfer applications for new transfer students in grades 5-12 will be accepted; however,
given already large enrollments in these grades/schools, it is likely that few if any new
transfers will be accepted in these grades.

A transfer student is one whose legal settlement is not within the boundaries of the Yorktown Community Schools district, which includes all of Mt. Pleasant Township, Delaware County, Indiana.  Yorktown has accepted many transfer students over the years and intends to continue on a limited basis.  Yorktown will comply with the provisions of IC 20-26-11-32 in regard to transfer students.

Requests by parents, guardians, or custodians of Indiana students who do not have a legal residence within the boundaries of Yorktown Community Schools but who wish to enroll their child in the school corporation will be considered, see the attached Transfer Student Procedures for details.

All kindergarten applications must be received prior to 3:00 p.m. Wednesday, April 10, 2024 to be eligible for a lottery draw (if needed) during the school board meeting on Tuesday, April 16, 2024.  Transfer applications will continue to be accepted and considered on a space available, first-come, first-served basis until Friday, July 26, 2024, unless the Superintendent elects to close transfer enrollment by grade level, by building, and/or district-wide. 

Applications for grades 1-12 must be received prior to Friday, June 7, 2024 at 3:00 pm. to be eligible for the June 18 lottery draw. 

All applications, agreements and new student registration forms must be returned to Yorktown Community Schools, Administration Building, 2311 S. Broadway Street, Yorktown, IN  47396